Her Father’s Eyes

I love my hazel eyes.  Of course, I think all eye colors are beautiful.  Two of my children have blue eyes.  Beautiful blue eyes.  My mom has gorgeous brown eyes.  I love my hazel eyes, though, because I got them from my dad.

I’m a bit of a Daddy’s girl.  So I love that we share the same eye color.  What I especially love about having his eyes, is the symbolism behind it.  The symbolism that’s captured in an Amy Grant song from years ago.  I was probably only nine or ten when I first heard it, but even then, it captured me and connected me to my dad.  Even then, I caught the symbolic significance of these words:

I may not be every mother’s dream for her little girl

And my face may not grace the mind of everyone in the world

But that’s all right as long as I can have one wish I pray

When people look inside my life, I want to hear them say

[Chorus:]

She’s got her Father’s eyes, her Father’s eyes

Eyes that find the good in things

When good is not around

Eyes that find the source of help

When help just can’t be found

Eyes full of compassion, seeing every pain

Knowin’ what you’re going through, and feeling it the same

Just like my Father’s eyes

My Father’s eyes

My Father’s eyes

Just like my Father’s eyes

And on that day when we will pay for all the deeds we have done

Good and bad they’ll all be had to see by everyone

And when you’re called to stand and tell just what you saw in me

More than anything I know, I want your words to be

[Chorus]

Though describing our heavenly father, these words are so true of my earthly father, too.  In fact, I could add even more things about my father’s eyes that I love:  They twinkle with humor.  They have watched over me, cared for me, loved me and protected me from the moment I was born.  My dad’s eyes are full of patience and wisdom.  They are always looking toward and pointing to his heavenly father.  His eyes are tuned into others, hoping to share and model the Good News.  As a pastor, Dad has the eyes and heart of a shepherd.  As a husband, Dad’s eyes clearly convey love and commitment to my mother, modeling a Godly marriage. As a father, his eyes have watched me grow up and were tuned into who I was and what I did.  His eyes are still tuned into his grown children: our needs, our desires, our hearts, our lives.  They are the windows to the heart of a man I am proud and blessed to call my father.

In fact, I have been blessed to have an earthly father who eyes are about as close to his heavenly father’s eyes as anyone I know.  Not that he’s perfect, but because of my father ~ who he is, how he’s lived his life, and how he’s loved his children ~ I have a pretty good glimpse into the eyes of my heavenly father.  I couldn’t have asked for a better model.

I’m thankful for my hazel eyes… they remind me not only of my dad, the person, but they remind me to have “my father’s eyes.”  In fact, my wish, I pray, is that when people look inside my life, they might see even just a fraction of my father’s eyes.  Both my earthly father’s and my heavenly father’s.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Her Father’s Eyes

  1. Elaine says:

    a beautiful tribute to your wonderful father. Happy Birthday Dave Rockness.

Leave a Reply

